Introducing the committee for the 2019/20 season...

If you need to contact members of the committee, please visit the Contact page.

Chair - Julia Whitworth

Lifesaving was a massive part of my university experience at Birmingham and I’m really grateful to have the opportunity to give back to BULSCA as chair. When I started uni, I was a lifeguard but had never heard of lifesaving as a sport and now 6 years later I can’t imagine not being a part of it. I had the pleasure of competing for Birmingham for 5 years in which time I had the privilege of going to the Grand Prix Moravie in the Czech Republic, Worlds in the Netherlands and have won the A league 3 times with incredible teams. I have been social sec, club captain and assistant training officer on the Birmingham committee and have had a lot of lifesaving coaching experience.
My aspirations as BULSCA chair are to ensure that all clubs have a point of contact they can go to for recruitment/training/ competition advice, that clubs become more involved in fundraising and that all clubs have a link with another club for additional training/ competitions.

We will work with all clubs to ensure this happens and please don’t hesitate to contact any of the committee for help with anything x



Treasurer - Andrew Scoones

I started lifesaving on a whim at university and after going to my first competition I was hooked. I took up a coaching role on Warwick's Exec for 3 years, and even did some coaching via Skype when I was on my year abroad! One of my favourite lifesaving memories was winning the wet SERC at champs in my second year.


This year I'm aiming to judge at as many competitions as possible, and as treasurer I'll do my absolute best to find sponsorship!


Secretary - Michael Kirkham

Hello. I’m Michael, this year’s secretary. As secretary, my main responsibility is compiling the agenda for committee and full BULSCA meetings and taking minutes. I’m also responsible for maintaining BULSCA documents and acting as a point of contact for various matters. You can read more about my role in the constitution.

I’ve been part of university lifesaving since 2009, after starting RLSS lifesaving at my home swimming group, LASG. I started at Warwick University, then moved on to found Sheffield University lifesaving club with Helen Morris in 2014. In 2017-18 I was BULSCA chair and last year I was secretary. I enjoyed it so much I’ve stayed on in the role.

When I’m not lifesaving, I'm working in a school as a lab technician.


If you have any questions, please contact me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..




Development Officer - Hannah Smallwood

I have been involved with lifesaving since my second year of university after completing my NPLQ. I competed for the University of Nottingham Lifesaving Club and was lucky enough to compete as part of the A team in 2016-7 when we managed to finish third in the league.


During my third year of university I became part of the UoN Lifesaving committee, first as president then as Gen Sec. Whilst I was an undergrad I also organised Notts comp and held the position of Secretary on the BULSCA committee. Since then I have organised Freshers Comp in Nottingham, qualified as a BULSCA judge, was the BULSCA Development Officer on the 2018-19 committee and became a qualified teacher.


As I commence my first year of teaching I am hoping to use the knowledge I have acquired over the past few years to help clubs to grow BULSCA and maintaining the culture within our clubs so that students continue to fall in love with the sport in the same way I did.


Data Manager - Jared Wray

I am a member of the University of Bristol Lifesaving Club, where I have been the President and for the past few years have been a Training Officer. I have been doing lifesaving for many years coming from a community club background and thoroughly enjoy competing on a regular basis in BULSCA competitions along with RLSSUK events. I have had the pleasure of captaining our A team this past year which has been great fun. I have also been known to study Biology sometimes outside of lifesaving too!


Having joined the BULSCA committee two years ago, I was first Secretary before being Chair for the past year. I have now taken on the role of Data Manager for the coming year and am looking forward to making a big impact within the role!

Communications - King Yee Cheung

Hi, I'm King Yee and I'm the BULSCA Communications Officer for 2019/20. My lifesaving experience kicked off in first year of university. I've competed for the University of Sheffield as well as the National University of Singapore during my year abroad. I've been on committee at Sheffield as Speeds Training Officer and Club Captain, and this is the third consecutive year where I've been elected as the club's Publicity Officer & Webmaster.


This year, alongside starting my PhD, I am looking forward to getting directly involved with BULSCA. As Communications Officer, I aim to keep all our members updated with news and events from all our affiliated clubs, and I hope to promote university lifesaving to the wider community.


If you have any lifesaving-related information or updates that you would like distributing to our members and followers, please do get in contact!



Championships Coordinator - Sophie Priddis & Stéphanie Panagi 

We are two experienced lifesavers, both graduates of the University of Bristol! Sophie is a vet nurse in a practice in Devon whilst Steph works crunching numbers in Bristol.


We have both been on the committees both for the University of Bristol Lifesaving Club as well as previous BULSCA committees (Sophie being Communications Secretary and Steph being Treasurer).


This year we have undertaken the role of Championships Coordinator, so it will be our jobs to make sure Champs 2020 is the best one yet!


Recruitment Officer - Josh Hale

Hey, I'm Joshua and I am the Club Recruitment officer for 2019/20. 


I am a Swansea alumni working as a Volunteer Coordinator for Bath SU. This is my 3rd year on the BULSCA committee and it is my role to encourage new clubs to form and to join BULSCA.


If you are at University or near a University and want to get in touch with setting up a lifesaving club I am here to help and look forward to hearing from you.